Writing Prize

| home | soutar | friends | links | contact |

William Soutar

A K Bell Library,
York Place,
Perth PH2 8EP
t: +44 (0)1738 477062
e:Local Studies

The Soutar House,
27 Wilson Street,
Perth PH2 0EX
t: +44 (0)1738 643687

| friends | buses | calendar | bairnrhymes | bookcases | grave | music | panels | prize |
| roll | schools | sculpture | shows | theatre | walks |

William Soutar Writing Prize 2015

Competition Details

This is an annual competition held in honour of Perthís greatest poet. Now in its fourteenth year, it attracts writers from across the globe, as well as many local Perth and Kinross entrants.

This year entrants can submit poems, in English or Scots, to compete for a first prize of a prestigious Arvon writing course. Previous winners have gone on to achieve further success with some having work published. All winning and a selection of commended and highly commended entries will be published in eBook format and available to borrow from the Libraries and Information Services eBook catalogue. A selection of entries for the previous years' competition are available in this format and can be accessed by registering with the library's eBook service.


john glenday

The competition has always secured a high calibre of judge, with previous slots filled by poet and former Festival Director of StAnza Brian Johnstone, and well-known writer and broadcaster Billy Kay. This year is no exception with Scottish poet John Glenday secured to read through all entries and select the winner.

John has written three collections of poetry, The Apple Ghost, Undark and Grain. The Apple Ghost won him a Scottish Arts Council Book Award and the other two were Poetry Book Society Recommendations. His fourth collection is due for publication in 2015.

The winner will be announced on Writer's Day, Saturday 29th August 2015, at the AK Bell Library. The programme will include a variety of creative writing workshops as well as the presentation of prizes. Further details and a full programme will be available nearer the time.

First Prize

A writing course at a UK Arvon Centre. The winner will be announced at an event to be held at the AK Bell Library in Perth on Saturday 29th August 2015.

Second Prize

£100 Book Token.

Local Prize

A £50 book token will also be awarded for the best work from a resident of Perth and Kinross.

Competition Rules

  • The deadline for all entries is Tuesday 23rd June 2015.
  • All entrants must be 16 years of age or over.
  • Poems must not exceed 40 lines.
  • A maximum of two poems may be submitted.
  • All entries must be typed or word processed, on one side of the paper only.
  • Two copies of each poem submitted must be provided.
  • Entries may be in English or Scots.
  • The competition is open to anyone throughout and outside the United Kingdom.
  • All entries are judged anonymously and the name of the writer must not appear on the manuscript.
  • Poems must not have been previously published.
  • Competition entries cannot be returned - please do not include a pre-paid envelope.
  • The Judgeís decision is final and no correspondence can be entered into.
  • Alterations cannot be made to poems once they have been submitted.
  • Entries must be accompanied by an entry form (download below).
  • There is no entry fee for this competition.
  • Local entries (writers living in Perthshire at time of entry) can also be additionally entered for the local Soutar prize. Please tick the box on the entry form if this applies.
  • It is the entrantís responsibility to ensure that the above rules are adhered to.

Failure to comply with the above rules will result in disqualification from the competition.

Additional Notes

  • The winner(s) will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday 29th August 2015.
  • Shortlisted entrants will be contacted beforehand.
  • Unsuccessful entrants will not be individually notified.
  • If a local entrant wins one of the main prizes, they will not also be eligible for the local prize.
  • The winning names will be posted on the PKC Library website following the official announcement on 29th August 2015.
  • The writers of the winning stories grant Perth and Kinross Libraries and Information Services the right to use the stories in publicity material for one year from 29th August 2015.
  • The copyright of each poem remains with the author.

Entry Forms

word   pdf

You may download the entry form in either Word or pdf format by clicking the appropriate icon.

William Soutar Writing Prize 2014

Prize Winners

Announced as part of the Writersí Day Programme at the AK Bell Library on Saturday 30th August, where competition judge Zoe Strachan presented the prizes.

1st Prize
Birds Donít Sing in the DarkDRD Bruton
douglas bruton
2nd Prize
Treading WaterCatherine Turnbull
Local Prize
Making Jam for Circus FolkFiona Thackeray
Highly Commended
A Bakerís SonLM Morgan
HardwareSarah Isaac
PineconesVicky Mackenzie
A Game of ShellsAlison Gray
An UnderstandingTracy Fells
I didnít know till later,
that it didnít have to mean anything
Laura Tansley
Lone WolfTracy Fells
Salt StoriesDRD Bruton

Winning entries, as well as a selection of the highly commended, commended and shortlisted stories will be published in ebook format, which will be available through the ebook section of the library webpage.

William Soutar Writing Prize 2013

Prize Winners

Announced at the Writers' Day on 31st August 2013, where competition judge Brian Johnstone and Provost of Perth and Kinross Council Liz Grant presented the prizes.

1st Prize
Land GirlsNikki Magennis
nikki magennis
2nd Prize
Sin EaterLynn Myint-Maung
Local Prize
Trick Performed on Smeaton's BridgeHeather Reid
Highly Commended
Miracles of LightPolly Atkin
LandnamLindsay MacGregor
ChristopherElizabeth Rimmer
The Sun BathersRoy Marshall
Dust to DustHelen Addy
Le Chaos de MourŤzeJean Atkin
QuercusRosemary Badcoe
Leukin to SeaJohn Brewster
The WaffIan Hunter
Spinning with GravityNikki Magennis
Bearing SouthSusan Mansfield

William Soutar Writing Prize 2012

Prize Winners

Announced at the Writers' Day on 25th August 2012:

1st Prize
Tea at the RitzDiane Chorley
di chorley
2nd Prize
When Mozart steyed the nicht in MethilJohn Brewster
Local Prize
Fox's CabinJoanne Bales
OutlawedRobin H. Rodger
SurgeryJ.K. Fox
Annie's TaleElizabeth M. Taylor
Bonny Peggy AlisonMary Johnston
Thon muckle bonnetElizabeth M. Taylor

William Soutar Writing Prize 2011

Prize Winners

Announced at the Writers' Day on 26th March 2011:

1st Prize
am aa dinJohn Brewster
john brewster
2nd Prize
Saddam Husseinís Overbite Speaks OutJosh Ekroy
3rd Prize (and Local Prize)
Joint winners:
ScenarioIrene Evans
What Part of NoÖ?Heather Reid
Wilfred Owenís Last LetterRoy Marshall
In Bed He Smells Like a Butcher Heather Reid
East Neuk StormVicky Paine
Mouche VolanteSharon Black
Mad person in your templeDeborah Trayhurn


Membership of FoWSS is free, and you have the opportunity to organise or participate in projects designed to promote Soutar and his works. In addition, members receive an annual newsletter, notification of all FoWSS events and publications, and are invited to an annual Soutar Tea held at the Soutar House. Please use the Contact page if you would like to find out more about FoWSS.